Institute for Conceptual Studies
Info
Resources
Part of The Wrong New Digital Art Biennale
November 1, 2019 – March 1, 2020



LANGUAGE

An exhibition of artworks as descriptions.

How can written language communicate the ideas of an artwork? Some would argue art must be able to speak for itself, acting as a language of its own in a sense. However, art is often known only through its documentation or through the words of those who encountered it firsthand. Understanding the "art experience" has become even more complicated with the consideration of artist books, essays, mail art, and text art following the conceptual art movements of the mid-twentieth century. Beyond that, Internet art in the last few decades has blurred the line between documentation and original artworks, with primary experiences coming from digital imagery, reproducible computer files, and programs.

Participants were asked to select a project in any media, but rather than display images, video, or other traditional forms, each artist provided a written description of their work. The artists were given the freedom to write as much or as little as they felt was necessary, with some opting to have a single line of text, while others required paragraphs. While the Institute for Conceptual Studies does operate from a predominantly English-speaking region, we recognize the art world largely mandates that artists of other mother tongues communicate their work in English. In hopes of acknowledging the multicultural nature of the globalized art world, artists in this exhibition were encouraged to write their descriptions in any language of their choosing. Languages represented include English, Korean, Portuguese, and Italian.



FEATURING

Mauro Baio | maurobaio.com

Shelley Chamberlin | shelleychamberlinart.com

Izzy Cho | izzycho.com

Yasmina Gillies

Divyaa Kumar | divyaakumar.com

Alfred Marasigan | cargocollective.com/alfredmarasigan/Recent-work

Adam Mathieu | mathieuworks.com

Brüno Melo | behance.net/brunomelo

Hannah Newman | hannah-newman.com

David Quiles Guilló | thewrong.org

Saul Ramirez



CURATION

Zach Whitworth | zachwhitworth.com



Institute for Conceptual Studies
+
The Wrong New Digital Art Biennale
LANGUAGE | The Wrong